May 3, 2019 - A new remix of the track “Ride” by Swedish-Australian collaboration Moonraccoon and Gryff drove open the month. Owing to his crisp vocals, Gryff is one of the most influential singers in the synthwave-scene, and the remix by Malaysian producerYoru 夜 makes the track shine with beats that feature a flair of high school prom coupled with a strong sense of freedom that does not feel entirely unlike Corvette-cruising the open roads of California.

The month’s 2nd listing was another vocal remix, this time Grammy-nominated songwriter David Schuler’s project The Bad Dreamers’ “Who You Run To” was re-engineered by synthwave-stalwart Scandroid. The remixed “Who You Run To” combines a soulful 80s sound with a fresh, upbeat synthwave flavor, and is an absolute must for any fan of the genre!

3rd out was an instrumental cover of everyone’s favorite Scarface track, namely “Push It to the Limit” reimagined by none other than Michael Oakley. Born in Scotland and held in high regard in Los Angeles where he currently resides, Michael Oakley has become quite the synthwave titan delivering hit after hit as he gradually builds his legacy. His fresh instrumental take on “Push It to the Limit” breathes new life into an era of acclaimed ‘80s soundtracks, and this fresh spin on the seminal Scarface-hit results in a lively concoction that should make Kenny Loggins proud.

Our 4th addition was the new single “Savior ” by Fury Weekend and Josh Money. The evocative and dark composition dives into the theme of exploitation and the unyielding will of the human spirit. “Savior” marks the first collaboration between the two artists, blending synthwave with electro-pop. Incidentally, “Savior ” is the latest single from Fury Weekend’s upcoming album that will release later in 2019.

The 5th and final listing of April was Von Kaiser’s slightly post-apocalyptic “Landline.” Von Kaiser is a synthwave-act formed by four musicians who, in their own words “don’t just want to remember the music and movies of the ‘80s, we want to celebrate it” gives us this evocative glimpse of their upcoming debut album.

Kaspar Ravn